Image Credits:

  • Jan
  • 01

Interview with Basketball player Ishwarya: Love and Passion for the Game

Author Image Fistosports
Ishwarya is yet another young talent to come through that has loads of potential. She’s been rapidly growing but has maintained the fluidity that made her successful throughout her school and college career. So far, the 19-year-old played four international and seven nationals and two All India at College level, but the MOP Vaishnav College, Chennai forward is gearing up for 2019 season with high expectations. Excerpts Tell me a little bit about your background. And how you developed a passion for basketball? What made you chose this sport as your career? I started playing Basketball from my fifth standard. I have had a passion for sports and love basketball since my childhood. Who is your biggest supporter when it comes to basketball and how has your family/college played a role in your basketball career? My biggest supporters are my coach and my family, without whom I couldn’t have done anything. What do you like about basketball and what has kept you in it over the years? My love towards basketball is very precious, I\'m very mad about it. The sport has given me friendships and memories that will last me a lifetime. I’ve learned lessons that have helped me grow aside from the playing field and brought me opportunities that I never would have gotten if it weren’t for the sport. Any tough moments (setbacks, rejections, injuries, basically anything difficult that you have had to overcome) ? Yes, injuries and sports go hand in hand with each other, and I have faced a lot in my career. Bouncing back after each injury is hard and I ensure I work harder after each injury. It was very hard to recover after injuries. I should work double the time after injuries. What are the challenges of playing basketball in India? More player challenges are there and to play for country we should be stronger to face every challenges which come to our side. If you weren\'t a basketball player, what other event or sport would you be playing? Cricket, I love the game alternatively. You will be representing Tamil Nadu in 2019 Khelo India Games – what’s your team expectation and what are your goals in the tournament? Expectation is to play strong in all the matches and the goal would be to win the championship. What is it like being a part of the Indian National Team? It’s an incredible experience being a part of the Indian National Team. I get to interact with girls that come from different backgrounds but, they all come together with the same love and passion for the game which is really cool. Any chance I get to have to compete, I’m all in and being a part of the team allows me to do well and gain experience. What do you feel about the growth of basketball in Tamil Nadu? About the growth in Tamil Nadu for basketball, it is improving, better than how it was a few years back. They have started to give importance to basketball. What’s the best match that you have ever played? Juniors Nationals Championship 2016! What’s your highest point in a single game? And it was against which team? 30 points, against Kerala. Looking back at your formative years of playing basketball, what has been your biggest improvement? I have not improved much. I should start practicing more. Which NBA star you look up to and a team you would like to play for? Player is Kobe Bryant and the team is Lakers. What are your goals for this year? To get a railways posting soon.  

Rapid-fire questions

3 pointer or dunk: 3 pointer 5-on-5 full-courts, 3-0n-3 half-courts, 1-on-1 around a single: 3 on 3 half court. Share with us 3 items in your training bag: Water bottle, energy drink, and dry fruits. Favourite actor: Dhanush Favorite meal: Fried rice Who is your partner in crime? Arvind  
Have Something worth offering to? Advertise with us. Email: [widget id="fbw_id-2"]