Day three witnessed all the top boxers, Mohammad Hussamuddin (57kg), Sachin Siwach (57kg) and local boxer, Ashish Kumar (75Kg) register comfortable wins over their respective opponents at the 4th Elite National Championships at the Baddi University of Emerging Sciences and Technology on Sunday.

2018 Commonwealth games bronze medallist Mohammad Hussamuddin (57kg) representing Services defeated Maharashtra’s Sashikant Yadav 5-0. With a  cautious start in the first round, he picked up the pace drawing from his experience to blank out his opponent with a solid display of power play in the last two rounds; only to bag an easy win.

2016 World Youth Boxing Champion Sachin Siwach (57kg) exhibited a brilliant display of speed and power against Pralhad Panda of Goa. The 5’9 boxer from Railways who won a bronze medal in 52 kg last year dominated the bout right from the start, resulting in an RSC (Referee Stopped the Contest) verdict in R3 of the contest.

In the middleweight category, 2019 Asian Championships Silver medallist Ashish Kumar showed his class as he rained punches on his opponent Gnaneshwar Kurna of Telangana and the bout had to be abandoned in the second round itself. The lanky boxer while enjoyed local support from the students of Baddi University aims to bag the yellow metal after winning a bronze in the last edition.

In one of the day’s best bout, Ayaan Parihar of Himachal defeated Delhi’s Abhilash in an evenly contested welterweight bout. Both the boxers were relentless throughout the bout and were landing accurate blows at each other; though local boy Ayan managed to get the final node from the judges to win the match with a 3-2 split verdict.

Railways Dinesh Dagar (69kg), President’s Cup Gold medallist in Indonesia early this year ensured a one-sided win as he outpunched Vinod Bhardwaj of Jammu & Kashmir with a unanimous verdict. Dinesh had finished a runner-up last year and will look to win the title this time around.

Maharashtra’s Rohit Chavan (60 kg) also continued his winning run as he defeated Telangana’s, Niraj Kumar. Rohit went all out from the start and his thunderous blows resulted in the referee’s intervention and the contest had to be stopped in the second round itself.

Chandigarh’s Shubham defeated Orissa’s Dipak Kumar 5-0 in the lightweight category. Shubham’s quick movement and speed proved too good for his opponent. Making it a double was Pankaj Chauhan (75kg) also from Chandigarh, he defeated Manikant Shaw of West Bengal 5-0 to reach the pre-quarters.

Arjuna Awardee and Olympian Dingko Singh; Rajendra Prasad, V Devarajan, Jitendra, L Lakhra were present throughout the Championships to witness the 300 plus boxers in action as the finals of the fourth edition will be played on October 10.


Do you want to refer an athlete? Use SpotLight