by Sudipta Biswas

The first phase of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is over. Every team has played minimum 6 matches in the 12th edition of the cash-rich league. With the T20 cricket is known for its penchant for creating and breaking records here we come up with numbers that will leave you mesmerized.

Let’s have a look!


Also read: Four reason behind RCB’s poor start to IPL


In which over most number of wickets has fallen?

The 18th over of a match has seen falling 31 wickets in IPL 2019, the most in the season among all teams. On the other hand, 22 wickets have fallen in the 20th overs while 20 fallen in the 16th over. It clearly showed bowlers have been doing well in the death.

The fewest wickets have fallen in the 1st over as only six batsmen were dismissed so far.

Most singles

Who holds the record of most number of singles? Sunrisers Hyderabad’s comeback man David Warner now holds the record as he ran for 86 singles so far in the ongoing season. His Indian counterpart and RCB captain Virat Kohli is at second spot with 81 singles.

Most sixes in IPL’19

KKR talisman Andre Russell has hit 25 sixes in the 12th edition of IPL, the most by any batsman for any team in 2019. He is followed by KXIP opener Chris Gayle with 18 sixes while his KKR teammate Nitish Rana sits at third spot with 12 sixes in as many matches.

Most dot balls

CSK’s Deepak Chahar bagged a unique record as he bowled 73 dot balls in six matches in IPL 2019, the most by any bowler. He is followed by SRH spinner Rashid Khan who bowled 65 dot balls. Meanwhile, the record of most dot balls in an innings is also held by Deepak who bowled 20 dot balls out of 24 balls he bowled against KKR at Chepauk on Tuesday.

Best bowling figure

Mumbai Indian’s newest hero Alzarri Joseph returned with an astonishing figure of 6 for 12 against Sunrisers Hyderabad which is now the best bowling figure in IPL history and the 8th best in all T20 cricket! This was also the best bowling figure bowled by any bowler on his IPL debut. The record of previous best bowling figure was held by Sohail Tanvir who took 6 wickets for 14 runs in 2008 IPL.

RCB’s losing streak

Virat Kohli led Royal Challengers Bangalore lost six consecutive matches since they launched their campaign on March 23 when CSK sent them packing for 70 runs. Losing six consecutive matches after the start of an IPL season is the most by any team.

Slowest fifty of IPL’ 19

David Warner, who has already hit a hundred off 54 balls against RCB, has also bagged the record of slowest fifty of the season. Overall, his 49-ball 50 is the third slowest in IPL history.  JP Duminy is on top of the list with a 63-ball 59 he scored for Mumbai Indians in 2009, while Aaron Finch is second with a 62-ball 68 he had scored for Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2014. Warner scored 70 off 62 balls against KXIP.

Most Sixes

Windies and KXIP talisman Chris Gayle has hit 310 sixes in IPL history, the most by any batsman in the Indian T20 league. No other batsman has managed to cross 200! He is followed by RCB’s AB de Villiers who hit 197 sixes in 147 matches.


Read: IPL 2019: Late night finish is big concern for players and broadcaster!


Openers smashing centuries in same innings

Two centuries in same innings is rare in IPL. But, in the match between SRH and RCB, Hyderabad openers Jonny Bairstow and David Warner slammed centuries. The duo also shared 185 runs opening wicket partnership, highest by any opening pair in IPL ever. This was only the second time in IPL when two batsmen registered hundreds in same innings. In 2016, Virat Kohli and de Villiers notched hundreds against Gujarat Lions.

Most catches in an innings

Delhi Capitals’ Rahul Tewatia became the only fourth fielder after Sachin Tendulkar, David Warner and Jacques Kallis to take four catches in a match in IPL history.

1st to reach 5000 runs landmark in IPL

CSK’s Suresh Raina became the first batsman to amass 5000 runs in IPL. In the opening match of the season, Raina scored 19 off 21 balls. In the process, he completed the landmark and became the first man to achieve the amazing record. Later, Virat Kohli joined the exclusive league and rose to top the table.


Have Something worth offering to? Advertise with us.


Do you want to refer an athlete? Use SpotLight