by Ritwik Majumder

The Indian Women’s League 3rd season gets underway on May 5th in Ludhiana, Punjab – here is all you need to know about the season.

The most awaited Indian Women’s League is all set to kick start its third season on 5 May, 2019. Featuring 14 teams for the first time in the tournament’s short but glorious history, this season is absolutely going to be sublime. The league fixtures have been announced with Gokulam Kerala facing champions Rising Student’s Club on the opening day of the season.


Women’s football in India has been growing at a generous pace in the recent past and players like Aditi Chauhan and Dalima Chibber can be placed high in the team’s credits list. Contributions of young emerging players such as Indumathi Kathiresan and Anju Tamang is also regarded valuable in team India’s recent successes. Watching all these big and young guns blazing against each other in the domestic league is going to be some serious feast for football lovers all over the country.

Involvement of new teams in the competition will surely spice up things as veterans of the league, Rising Student’s Club, Sporting Union Club, and Sethu FC will be expecting high expectations from their fans back home. While Rising Student’s Club and Sporting Union Club are sharing the title respectively, Sethu FC can be termed as the dark horses and are clearly among the favourites to win the tournament this time.

Everybody remembers their unbeaten run of last season, and their display of fast and flawless football marked them special. Experts believe that the team has got the perfect combination of technically sound and skillful players which makes Sethu FC a well-walled fortress which is hard to capture.

This new season Sethu FC has concentrated on some smart transfer moves and some strategical releases of players which they believe will replicate grand success in this season. The signing of new goalkeeper Archana has been regarded as an excellent move as the new comer has been a regular start for India junior team and is considered as a quality stopper of the ball. Sethu FC is banking largely on their new transfers and the old members are not letting them down which makes them a force to be reckoned with.

The IWL is one of the most important platforms for young and budding talent to come up and is also a very good ground for improvement for Indian women football. The determination, hardwork and passion our women footballers have shown is unparallel, now it’s time for us to show our love and support for the women in blue and help them soar new heights of success.

Teams & Format


Group I Group II
Rising Student’s Club Manipur Police Sports Club
Gokulam Kerala FC Sethu FC
Football Club Alakhpura Bangalore United Football Club
Hans Women Football Club CRPF Women’s Football Team
Central SSB Women Football Team SAI-STC Cuttack
Panjim Footballers FC Kolhapur City
Tripura Sports School Baroda Football Academy


This season IWL will have 14 teams, divided into two groups. The teams will play each other once and the top two teams will compete in the semi-final. The league stage will come to end on May 18. The semi-finals will be played on May 20 and the final will be on May 22.


The 2018/2019 Indian Women’s League fixtures




Have Something worth offering to? Advertise with us.


Do you want to refer an athlete? Use SpotLight