The Indian women’s rugby team settled for silver after losing to Philippines (12-19) in the final of the Asia Rugby Sevens Trophy in Jakarta.

Three girls, Hupi Majhi, Sumitra Nayak and Meerarani Hembram were from Kalinga Institute of Social Sciences, Bhubaneswar. Philippines, undefeated in the tournament, gained promotion to the top-tier Asia Rugby Women’s Series.

India managed to stay unbeaten for the most part of the two-day tournament with wins over Chinese Taipei (34-0), Guam (29-12) and Indonesia (21-17) before eventually falling to Philippines.

This tournament acts as a qualifier to the Sevens Series, which features the top eight teams in Asia. Only the top-placed team, in this case Philippines, can claim promotion to next season’s Sevens Series. As opposed to the six-team 2017 tournament, where India had also won silver, this edition had a larger pool of nine teams – Philippines, Indonesia, Korea, Guam, Laos, Qatar, Chinese Taipei and Bangladesh.

The Indian men’s team was crowned the plate winners after beating Indonesia 21-17 in the final.

Do you want to refer an athlete? Use SpotLight